How can I earn money with StudyBay? Top writers
Order Assignment
This order has already been completed on Studybay
On Studybay you can order your academic assignment from one of our 45000 professional writers. Hire your writer directly, without overpaying for agencies and affiliates! Check price for your assignment
1 bids submitted. Essay Example.

Eating Disorders and Religion

Various religious denominations and movements have their own eating rules, including restrictions on the use of certain foods and beverages that sometimes can lead to eating disorders.

In Christianity, the use of meats offered to idols is strictly forbidden and a violation of this prohibition entails severe canonical penalties. During Lent, depending on its degree of severity, the use of meat, dairy products, fish, and eggs is prohibited. The Catholic Church permits eating meat of capybaras even at Lent. The Catholic Church supports the cultivation of genetically modified crops. According to the higher church hierarchy, GM crops may be the solution to the problem of world hunger and poverty.

In the Qur’an, there is a clear ban on pork, blood, and the meat of animals that have died of natural causes, the meat of animals that were slaughtered not with the name of God.

In Islam, halal poultry must be covered with feathers, and should not be predatory. It is forbidden to eat meat, cut from a living animal.

According to Islamic Jurisprudence Council, products derived from genetically modified seeds are halal.

In Judaism, the suitability of a food to the reception (kosher) is determined by a system of ritual rules that define the compliance of anything to Halacha requirements of Jewish law. The laws of kashrut are based on the commandments of the Torah, as well as additional rules established by the Jewish religious authorities. It is forbidden to eat pork, horsemeat, donkey meat, camel, hare, rabbit, salted meat, and other varieties of meat. Jews are prohibited to eat almost all seafood except fish that has fins and scales.

Honey is considered kosher, though bees are not recognized as such.

The vast majority of Hindus-meat eaters abstain from eating beef and use cows as a source of protein only in the form of milk and milk products, as well as a supplier of fertilizer and fuel.

Out of respect for other living beings, many Hindus adhere to a vegetarian diet. Vegetarianism is one of the important aspects of Hinduism; it is seen as a means of achieving pure lifestyle.

The most orthodox Hindus also do not eat onions and garlic, which are considered as products related to lower quality.

In Buddhism, meat-eating is not desirable, but not prohibited. It is strictly forbidden to eat the meat of the animal, which was slaughtered specifically for the food. Zen Buddhist monkhood is entirely vegetarian.

In some countries, where Buddhism is the state religion, there is a so-called lent, which coincides with the rainy season, and usually lasts about 3-4 months.

Various religious denominations and movements have their own eating rules, including restrictions on the use of certain foods and beverages that sometimes can lead to eating disorders.

In Christianity, the use of meats offered to idols is strictly forbidden and a violation of this prohibition entails severe canonical penalties.

Related Materials
Assignment ID
100001130
Discipline
Type
CREATED ON
August 27, 2016
COMPLETED ON
August 28, 2016
Price
$5
This order has already been completed on Studybay
On Studybay you can order your academic assignment from one of our 45000 professional writers. Hire your writer directly, without overpaying for agencies and affiliates!
Check price for your Essay
Essay Example Comments
sunshinedivah56
December 7, 2016
sunshinedivah56
Great job !!! Well done !!
redmanmj12
November 25, 2016
redmanmj12
Love this writer
redmanmj12
November 9, 2016
redmanmj12
Love this writer she alway gets my work done ahead of time and waiting for any support i need.